Custom Corset

25 Aug

I’m having a custom corset made. I’ve been dreaming about it for years but it is finally a reality, thanks to McGrew Studios in Salt Lake City. They have the most fantastic little shop and the moment I walked through those doors I knew they were perfect. We spent the first consultation talking designs and fabrics and the second discussing Alexander McQueen. We’re a perfect fit.

The reason why I have chose to finally do it now is because, come fall, I intend to wear this corset for 6 straight months. It’s the logical next step in my fascination with perfection. There is no good reason for why now or why at all really, it’s just one of those things you get in your head and can’t seem to get rid of. If you hate this idea, consider yourself warned cause you’re going to want to avoid the blog altogether  for 6 months of photos and updates about me not being able to breathe or find anything in my closet to wear.  The up side is that my mom is going to be forced to remove “bad posture” from her list of reasons I’m not married.

Trying on a sample corset. The void is where normal colored people have skin.

I’d love to hear your thoughts and answer some questions about this little project. I have the first fitting with my corset this saturday. I’ll let you know how it goes.

One Response to “Custom Corset”

  1. Kristen September 5, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Not surprised and may love you a little more for being so odd. I mean really, who would sign up for this?

Leave a Reply

