After a brief intermission…

19 Aug

I’m back. Settle down everyone. I know it’s been rough without me and all these gems I share with you, but I’m sure you made it through. I haven’t gone to bed before 4 am in the last 2 days and the fall semester starts up in 3 days so obviously now is when I’m toatlly not tired and I have tons of time to write nonsense nobody wants to read. A few things I need to talk at you about: The Alexander McQueen show, Utah Hipsters, Custom made corsets and feminism in 2011. That sounds like a blast right?

So I went through with my trip to New York and it was completely worth it. Alexander McQueen is a gifted genius. I would like to show some of the photos I wasn’t supposed to take.

Not just a clothing designer.

I would wear that around.

Incredible.

Second favorite dress in the show.

I dream in laser cut leather.

drum roll please…

I'll be damned if I'm not wed in that dress.

The show took my breath away. There were tears. It changed my life for the better. A lot of drama for one show but LOST is over so I had to find a suitable replacement. It was dark and brilliant and perfectly curated and the most impressive show I’ve ever seen. I’m upset that I only got the courage to take pictures halfway through because the first room with some of his earlier stuff was unreal. It was perfectly tailored. Seams that deserve a quiet moment of appreciation. I really feel that you don’t need to love fashion to appreciate what that man created because it rivals some of the greatest paintings I’ve ever seen.  The man was an artist in every sense of the word. I will be reviewing the coffee table book of his work daily for a year.

End scene.

 

Leave a Reply

