Spoken word poetry

10 May

I have an aversion to bad performances. It’s not just that I don’t like them, I actually have a physical reaction to them. Those of you who know me well have seen me do it. I start out looking like a lady with ankles crossed, hands in lap, then cross my legs and fold my arms, then slowly one legs twists further around the other and as the knot in my stomach gets tighter I curl forward until I am a tiny ball of anxiety with eyes squeezed shut. Improv comedy is not my friend. So, of course you think I would hate theater, but I don’t. I just had to distance myself from my friends that are bad at it. Spoken word poetry is then out of the question you say. Not so.

I love spoken word poetry. I got a little teary as I wrote that. I remember walking out of a gallery in downtown Salt Lake one night and stopping right where I stood because a boy with curly blond hair and a necklace was reciting original poetry out loud on the side of the street. I was stunned and impressed and in awe of what he could do. I remember my exact thought was, “I hope his mother is so proud of him”. A little strange maybe but I wanted to know that the people close to him realized what a gift this boy had. I’ve snuck into the back of a local coffee house to listen to teenagers perform poetry on more than one occasion. It’s not that I’m embarrassed, it’s that I don’t want anyone to ruin it. I don’t want to bring someone who will laugh at the kids spilling their soul… or at me for getting a little teary about it.

Anyway, I saw this today and I loved it. If you don’t have the time, just listen to the first couple minutes, which are the actual poem. I am in awe of her gift. One day.

Leave a Reply

