The red velvet cake disaster of 2011

18 Apr

So no, I’m not a food blogger, but I do believe I clearly stated that I love beautiful things, and baking is beautiful, so I’d like to share a few of my recent baking accomplishments with you.

This weekend I attempted a red velvet cake in 6″ rounds. The problem was that I only bought one pan to “try it out”, which doesn’t exactly lend itself to speed or evenly measured tiers. It was a disaster. The first cake was way too dry around the outside and the next two completely sunk in the middle. The thing that put me in a bind was that I only realized the problem with the second two the next morning when I cut the tops off the cakes to level them in order to assemble the birthday cake I need in a few hours.

If the color of the batter were an indication of the final product it would be perfect.

I went into problem solving mode and it worked much better than most of my fix-it ideas do. I quickly made 3 new tiers of chocolate cake and did this:

The terrible revelation

A sneaky and deceptively good looking cake.

In situations such as these I find it incredibly handy to have a sister with a level head and steady hands.

So we used a glass cup to mark a circle in the center of all 6 cakes and then Valori’s steady hand cut each of them out while I put my makeup on.  This allowed us to swap out the two insides of red velvet that weren’t cooked, as well as the outside of the one that was overcooked.

After stacking alternate colors, we gave the whole thing a good crumb coat and I handed the whole thing over to Val to give the first attempt at rose icing.

The first few roses

We found the cream cheese frosting to be a little slide-y for such a technique, so the next round will be a nice firm buttercream.

voila!

Not bad for a first try and even better for the disaster it almost was . Hopefully round two will be intentional. Happy Baking.

3 Responses to “The red velvet cake disaster of 2011”

  1. megan April 19, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    um that looks beautiful and very delicious. you girls are oh so talented.

  2. Kristen April 26, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    ditto megs comment. I love the roses.

  3. TPS April 27, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    It’s not a disaster at all. So pretty!

Leave a Reply

