It was a shoe day.

13 Feb

Worked out this week. More to come on that… (My roommate took pictures.)

For now I’ve got my eye on spring. I bought my first pair of nude heels today. I know, I’m like an entire year behind, but I couldn’t find any last year and then I had to wait around to see if they had any staying power and lucky for me, they did. I’ve tried on a million pair, but the problem always seems to be that I am too white for any shade designated as “nude”. They end up looking like brown shoes or orange shoes or just sickly feet. I found some very well priced Vince Camuto peep toed heels and went for it. I fear they will not allow me to stash them in the closet until spring.

The other purchase today was a pair of lace and black suede ankle booties. I will spare you form a picture, given that once out of the disorienting store lighting and away from the intoxicating smell of leather and dreams, they looked about as terrible as one might imagine with such a description. They will be promptly returned come Monday.

I’m usually the shop alone type, but every once in a while I have an experience that reminds why it’s good to get a second opinion. I almost bought these:

Then my darling sister-in-law reminded me that I am neither a Spice Girl, nor a tranny and I passed them by.

 

This is the direction I am taking spring in:

… when I’m not in dresses. I didn’t forget about the dresses.

2 Responses to “It was a shoe day.”

  1. confessionsofmothertheresa February 18, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Are these leggings, jeggings, skinny jeans? Is the shirt supposed to be wrinkled. Please school me O Wise One On All Things Fashion

  2. jillianamy February 20, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Theresa,
    I do believe the shirt wrinkling was intentional due to the disheveled nature of what she was going for. I however can not handle the anxiety that accompanies putting on clothing that starts out wrinkly, so I will opt for casual, yet properly steamed. I want to say black jeggings. I’m not entirely certain of how I feel about that but I do have an aversion to denim on denim and I will not be wearing leggings as pants with a denim shirt- so probably a slim fitting black pant.

Leave a Reply

