Making Peace with Being Average

15 Jan

There is a powerpoint presentation on fashion that I give to small groups when asked, and this year I intend to break it down, slide by slide, on my blog, to give me the opportunity to share some of my stronger feelings regarding the fashion decisions we make, and how we can make better ones. Unfortunately for a handful of my very supportive and kind-hearted friends, who have sat through this slide show, they get to hear it all over again, but without the awkward facial expressions.

One running theme in my presentation is: don’t dress like you are the exception to any rule. That doesn’t mean you can’t try something that will most likely fail (hello, I bought a romper last year). It means that chances are you’re not the exeption and that you will look like all the other girls who shouldn’t be wearing spandex as pants in public. By definition, most of us are average. We have average body types, average jobs, average problems. We are unique, but so is everyone else. Unique, to some degree is average. I spent a great deal of my life pretending I wasn’t average, that I was special or completely different in some way. I will always be different because of the life I have lead and the choices I’ve made, but when it comes down to it, I trip on the last step, I make obscene hand gestures without realizing what I’m doing, I cry at really stupid movies, and my mom makes me feel better when I’m sick. I’m normal. I’m average. I know this goes beyond fashion, but my view of fashion extends to my character. What I wear is part of who I am. I had a life changing epiphany a little over a year ago when I had my heart broken for the first time. As most of you can attest to, it feels awful. At 23 I thought I had skipped that, but then I realized how terrible that would been. What if I had a daughter and I couldn’t tell her I knew what it felt like and that everything was going to be okay? I was part of the whole. I was average, because even though it’s nice to think we are the only ones feeling that specific pain, or the only one trying to hide that roll around the middle or attempting to figure out how some women’s internal organs can fit in there, most people are with us. Most of us will just look like giant babies in rompers or big kids who pooped their harem pants. When in doubt, follow the rules because they were made for regular people like you and me, and that’s okay.

Me. No makeup, just a little self-conscious, like anybody else would be.

3 Responses to “Making Peace with Being Average”

  1. sarah January 20, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    This is a good post. And I like you. And I’m excited to see your slideshow again.

  2. kaeleigh4 January 27, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    are you trying to suggest that most people make obscene hand gestures all of the time without realizing it? Sorry Jil, that’s all you.

    And that’s not even close to what I look like without makeup on, no matter how similar you insist we are. It is my cross to bear as a arian woman.

  3. William April 12, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Just wonderfully beautiful.

Leave a Reply

