THE denim

10 Oct

I’ve been spending a great deal of time think about Levi 501s as of late. If you’ve been around me in the last 4 days, you’ve heard it. But I simply cannot get over what an absolute feat of design they truly are. Levi Strauss designed the very first American denim there ever was, so aside from any particular style, creating a pant as work wear for California miners in 1872 that is still a wardrobe basic in 2010 blows my design mind. In 1964 a pair of Levis was even entered into the permanent collection of the Smithsonian Institute in Washington DC. I don’t own any quite yet but my dad swears by them and that’s good enough for me.

The original 501 owners

through the years

made for anybody and everybody

and the president wears them

6 Responses to “THE denim”

  1. colin roe ledbetter October 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    501 are the only pants i like

    buttonfly

  2. Rachael October 10, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    sorry obama, but i hate when people wear running shoes for anything other than, well, running. this includes one lame throw of a baseball. forgive me.

  3. kaeleigh October 23, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Racheal: I fail to understand how anyone can feel any strong emotions re: Asics. I fear that your hatred may be completely irrational.

  4. kaeleigh October 23, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    but seriously, I know how to spell your name

  5. kaeleigh October 23, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    and jil, your blog makes me wait 1 minute before I can post another comment…fix this

  6. your mom January 2, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    514s. hands down.
    501s are for older men… hence your father and obama’s mutual interest.

    however, i will wear 514s when i’m and older man (some may argue i’m already an older man)

Leave a Reply

