Happy Birthday to ME.

27 Sep

With October speedily approaching I was faced with one of the biggest decisions I make every year- what to get myself for my birthday.

It’s hard because this year there are so many great things I feel that I truly need. I can’t fight the love for accents of leopard this fall, and my shoe closet has been crying out for above the knee black leather boots, but every woman needs a respectable fur. So, the decision was made, so long as I could find a respectable enough fur. Yesterday seemed like the perfect day-  I finally had a few free hours and it was still warm enough that most reasonable people weren’t looking for furs quite yet. I sorted through racks of vintage fur coats and stoles with my nose plugged but the best furs were jackets too short and chubby or so long you looked like Snoop. I finally found THE fur but it was a cape and I was looking for a coat. I tried it on anyway and there it was- love. Every other dead animal paled in comparison to that silver fox. I bought it. Happy Birthday to me. It’s from the 1920’s and it is every bit as stylish now as it was then. It’s brilliant. If you have something against fur, I respect you, so long as you respect the beauty that is my fox fur cape.

My roommate kaeleigh snapped this photo moments after I bought it and moments before she puked in her mouth- not a fan.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to ME.”

  1. Kenna September 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I am McKenna Taylor, and I aprove of this Fur cape.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An exceptionally clean love affair « such stuff as dreams are made on - March 13, 2011

    […] The Cleaner* had me bring in it to check the fur himself  to assess quality. Once he saw my 1920s fur cape, he referred me to a leather and fur cleaner. He told me they were one of 2 places in the entire […]

Leave a Reply

