A belated farewell to Mr. McQueen

10 May

I know I’m almost exactly 3 months late on this one, but it just wouldn’t be fair if I never mentioned the loss of Alexander McQueen. You’ve heard it all, so I’ll keep this one short and sweet. I would like to share with you, my favorite McQueen story. The man was a bit of a diva, but when you are that gifted, I suppose you can afford to be. When he was appointed head designer at Givenchy in 96′, he began  by insulting the founder, and never quit making a stir and causing controversy for the next 5 years. The best of these was the 1998 runway show in which he employed double amputee athelete Aimee Mullins to walk in the show. McQueen had ornately carved legs specially made for her to walk in. Incredible.

The legs.

Aimee Mullins

Alexander McQueen is gone, but his brilliance will live on in his incredible designs. Here are  a few of them.

Leave a Reply

