Duo tone tights

4 Nov

I am always cold… and I don’t really like pants. Thats where tights come in. I wear tights all winter long, so I’m always looking for a new warm and interesting pair. The problem is that they make way cooler tights for children than grown women. The great news is that tights are back! It is now possible to get good quality tights, in an interesting print that is larger that 2T. (yes, I am way too familiar with children’s clothing sizes for a single 23 year old woman- I know, okay?)

My latest obsession is duo tone tights. I have yet to purchase a pair, but I have my eye on some. They aren’t as tricky to mix into a wardrobe as a crazy print but they are still a great bold statement for any outfit. The most popular (as evident by the abundance of them on lookbook) is the black and white, but they are available in less contrasting shades as well for a slightly more subtle look.

346375_LBplain

Killer with ankle boots.

Visually dividing the leg in half is pretty flattering and I think confidence to wear something like that looks good on every woman. Nordstrom sells a pair by DKNY that are only $20 and still get you the same runway look.

I’ve always been a fan of a thicker lace tight. Recently I’ve been enjoying the mashups I can create with a simpler lace pair like the ones I’m wearing in the horrible photo below. I didn’t get a good picture of my outfit that night and the tights were easily the best part. It was a low key bachelor/ bachelorette party in New York at the Jekyll and Hyde Haunted Pub. I opted for my staple little black French Connection dress, the gray floral tights and my favorite lace up black ankle boots by Jeffry Campbell. I think it worked out okay.

IMG_7402

Bad picture to illustrate the tights, but it's a funny picture either way.

3 Responses to “Duo tone tights”

  1. Kristen November 5, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    success

  2. carly December 2, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    have you seen this? Awesome two tone tights:

  3. jillianamy December 2, 2009 at 7:26 am #

    I hadn’t seen that before but those tights are awesome. I’m also a fan of the corset belts with the dress shirts. Maybe I’ll try that later this week. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

