Cirque de la Symphony

21 Sep

How can you get better entertainment than Cirque de Soleil performers doing their thing in front of a live orchestra? I say you cannot. It also helped that my planned outfit worked out just fine. I got a few strange looks, but not so many that you know you’ve done something terribly wrong. I went with the circus coat over a strapless French Connection number, paired with my trusty round toe black pumps. 

 

With a few performers backstage.

With a few performers backstage.

The coat tails were just barely longer than the dress in the back and cut right at the pleats in the front. The two pieces were made for each other. Next circus themed cocktail party- ready. 

 

The side view. Having him on my arm definitely didn't hurt the ensemble either.

The side view. Having him on my arm definitely didn't hurt the ensemble either.

2 Responses to “Cirque de la Symphony”

  1. Katie October 21, 2009 at 5:02 am #

    where did you find that coat?!?! i’ve been looking verywhere for a ringleader coat!

    • jillianamy October 21, 2009 at 6:36 am #

      I found an old 80’s inspired long jacket at a thrift store and added all the gold trim and rope. I cut the front up to the hip and curved it to the bottom of the jacket in the back. It was just a really lucky find.

Leave a Reply

