Maxi Dresses- the solution to sweat pants

8 Jun

I don’t do sweats. I own one pair of sweat pants. I am of the opinion that if you own two pair, you will wear them twice as often, and so on. Sweats are for the comfort of your own home or when you are ill. There are no excuses. I see girls walking through the mall in their sweat pants and UGG boots and I have to ask myself- do you really hate yourself that much?

Inspirational Project Runway Season 3 contestant and mother of 6, Laura Bennett, doesn’t own a pair of sweats or anything like it. She says its a slippery slope from jeans to completely letting yourself go. I’m not quite to that extreme, but the woman has a point.

 

Laura Bennett

Laura Bennett

 

 

“If I am dressed dumpy, I am going to eat badly and act dumpy. It’s such a simple thing to get dressed and feel better about yourself.” – Laura Bennett

The problem is those mornings when you just don’t have the time to devote even 15 minutes to yourself. I am constantly looking for the solution for those days that enables me to achieve effortless beauty in 3 minutes or less. I’m not sure if I’ll ever reach such a lofty goal, but i have found a wonderful warm weather alternative to the sweat pants. The Maxi dress. I’ll admit that I underestimated the maxi last season, but will mot be making the same mistake this season. You can throw on a simple black one or one with a little tie dye or beading. The options are endless and in 30 seconds you have a perfectly in-style summer outfit that requires a pair of sandals and a cute bag and voila- look complete. 

 

I mean, come on. It even makes Ashlee Simpson look alright.

I mean, come on. It even makes Ashlee Simpson look alright.

5 Responses to “Maxi Dresses- the solution to sweat pants”

  1. Colin June 8, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    but she looks like she is being compressed.

  2. Colin June 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    http://www.garancedore.fr/en/2009/06/09/diy-day/ sweat pants can look good

  3. Ivory June 11, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    Maxi dresses are easy to wear and comfortable… Maxi style dresses are my first chocie in summers!!

  4. Marci June 17, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    I have taken your advice and have purchased a maxi dress. I want to live in it for the rest of my life, it is so comfortable.

  5. ali October 3, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    love them…can’t quite pull all of them off like i’d like to with the modesty issue…i like the cardie over, but still have to wear something under because none of them even attempt to hide any cleavage=extreme heat exhaustion from wearing eight layers and one of them being a cardigan, no?
    ps. i love your website. fulfills the jillian void in my life.

Leave a Reply

