Figments of my imagination

20 Apr

I have a difficult time separating reality from, well, not reality. This has proven to be a bit of a problem from time to time. It usually gets sorted out once I realize that I probably didn’t have that particular conversation with Valori because in the version I recall we were hovering. Basic reasoning has saved me from both my wild imagination and my hyper realistic dreams on countless occasions. Barack Obama has somehow managed to escape my plan for sanity. I am surprised to find, day in and day out, that he is indeed our president. Not in a ‘thats so fantastic that I can’t even believe it’ sort of way. I actually don’t believe it. I watched his inauguration, I read all sorts of articles about how the general population of this country, along with most of the seemingly intelligent journalists are dismayed that he didn’t turn out to have any real magical powers. And yet a look of shock will come across my face when he appears on CNN after beautiful Anderson Cooper  introduces a clip of our president. This morning I convinced myself that I imagined Dennis Kucinich. That is an understandable one though. He is basically a figment of the Democratic Party’s collective imagination. He’s a funny looking little idealist with a tall, pretty, vegetarian child for a wife, who actually ran for President. He is barely real. President Obama is actually real.

One Response to “Figments of my imagination”

  1. kaeleigh April 21, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    this is the kind of information I’m looking for.

Leave a Reply

